Gravel biked

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

SparkyP1983

Hi,

I’m brand new to cycling (well not rode in 20+ years), I’m after a gravel bike but undecided by 2. Merida Silex 600 or a Cannondale Topstone3.

what’s everyone’s thoughts?

Hi,

I’m brand new to cycling (well not rode in 20+ years), I’m after a gravel bike but undecided by 2. Merida Silex 600 or a Cannondale Topstone3.

Hi. Usually a big Cannondale fan (my M500 MTB is 26 yrs old now ^_^), but test rode the Topstone and didn't like it. Too heavy for a start so didn't fancy it on road so I went Spesh Diverge. Can't help with Silex but have a look at Canyon Grail as well. BTW, absolutely love the gravel bike, with 32c slick tyres on it goes well on road and tracks :okay:

ade towell

Merida looks ugly imho (may not be important to you), and Topstone - £1300 for Sora with mechanical disc brakes (the Promax Cannondale use are horrible from my experience), for less than that Boardman ADV8.9 with GRX hydraulic for £1100 is hard to beat, Sonder Camino also worth a look another UK company. No idea how easy it is to get any of these bikes in stock at the moment though...
https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/products/2332-adv-8.9-2021.html
https://alpkit.com/collections/sonder-camino

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
If the blue Merida, it’s gorgeous ;) and has Sram rather than Shimano (quite fancy one myself)
However, you need to go try them out (assuming you can actually get them in your size)

Sonder Camino not available until January (can order in August though :laugh:) and the Boardman just looks a bit dull to me!

Milzy

Guru
Hi,

Merida Silex 600 has better spec than a Topstone 3. Just get a Topstone 1.