GT85 Spray

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Wester

Guru
I have been using GT85 spray on my bike chain for about the past 6 months and it seems to be doing a good job . Do you or have you used GT85 spray if you have what is your feedback on it

mark st1

Plastic Manc
I use it as deodorant as its the mutts nuts. Love it

Octet

Veteran
Not on a bicycle chain, I would use either Finish Line wet or dry (dependant upon the weather).

I do use GT85 as a polish though, spray a small amount on a cloth and wipe the frame down with it. It helps protect and adds a nice shine, other than that it is good on door hinges and other general household tasks.

Any other bicycle component which needs it will get a light smearing of Lithium grease.

Venod

Eh up
Its all I have been using on the chain for several years now, I can't see a down side, I get decent mileage from my chains.

Octet

Veteran
Its all I have been using on the chain for several years now, I can't see a down side, I get decent mileage from my chains.

To be fair, I never used to use anything fancy prior to getting my road bike. It used to be WD40, and the chain on my mountain bike is still in pretty good nick, although I'm not sure how much wear it would cause to your dérailleurs and chain.

You certainly won't get as many miles out of it as you probably could, but it certainly works as an alternative and is definitely better than nothing.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Acting on advice elsewhere on the forum, I decided to give chainsaw oil a try. At only £5 for 500 mL at the local hardware shop, it is a lot cheaper than the bike oil from the LBS.

So far, so good. I used the 'Mickle method' to clean and lube a chain with it. I've only done 16 miles on the bike since, but so far, everything seems to be running smoothly. I do wonder if I am going to get more grit stuck to the chain now though - I was using dry lube before.