Has fixed spoilt your enjoyment of freewheeling?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MajorMantra

Since I started riding fixed I've found that when I occasionally ride a freewheel-equipped bike, I don't enjoy it as much as I used to. There are several things that I don't like:

-the sense of disconnection
-the reduced control at very low speeds, or at least the perception thereof
-the various clatterings from the drive train and the clicking of the freewheel
-the extra work going up gentle hills - my average speed feels slower when climbing

Today I bought a nice Peugeot 531 geared road bike and although descending was rather nice (no mad spinning) I just felt like something was missing. Sigh...

Anyone else?

Matthew

zimzum42

Legendary Member
yes, me!

zzpza

not really. i see my fixie as helping me ride further and faster when i'm on my geared bike. :laugh:

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
Yeh, i go out on my geared bike and it bores me abit, just not as challenging as my fixed, and just dont get the same feel.
Decending fast with people on geared bikes feels nicer, how you can tuck down and freewheel, and really lean into the courners without spinning is nice.
Ive got a while to wait till my fixed is done though, should be done in the half term i think:smile:
Not rode fixed for a few weeks now, i miss it:sad:

Franstheman

I started riding fixed last year after a component failure on my geared bike. Riding fixed was a winter occupation for many club riders in the dim and distant passed.
What a joy it was to be doing it again.
There is something about riding fixed that I cannot put my fingure on. I think it is something to do with whilst you are pushing the pedals round and in turn, turning the wheel there is a reciprocal effect from the momentum from the rear wheel turning the pedals around, either one feeding the other.
I bet there is someone out there who can give a better technical explaination than my effort.

ColinJ