Have you seen any improvement in performance after joining a club?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Boyfrom64

Veteran
I have been cycling as a hobby for the last two years and mostly I go out on my own. Over this time I have seen improvements in my fitness and performance i.e. my speed has gone up as well as the distance I cycle however, I am thinking of joining a club (1) for the social aspect and (2) in the hope that I will see further gains in my performance.

So the question is quite simple, anyone who has been in my position and has subsequently joined a club, have you experienced any performance gains?

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
Yes I have. But it depends on the club and the ability levels as to what you will get out of it.

Clinging onto a group that is right on the edge of your ability does wonders for your performance. As does the little bit of competition on occasions.

HLaB

Marie Attoinette Fan
Yes is the simple answer. Probably mainly due to the cammoradory, I think a club has motivated me to cycle longer, more regularly and faster. I've also been able to pick up tips from other riders.

Herzog

Swinglish Mountain Goat
The problem is finding that group that is right on the edge of your performance.

Agreed, it's very difficult; it's often the case of finding a sub-group that is right on the edge of your performance.

Buzzinonbikes

It's helped me massively. Mainly group riding skills (which are still coming on) and motivating me to get out in between club rides. Riding at speed over decent distances is way more fun in a group!

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
Yes - I was improving anyway, due to other factors but I think joining a club has helped a lot, especially in regards to motivating me to go out every weekend (often both days) and do long rides. Group riding (at pace) has come along nicely, too.

robjh

Legendary Member