Helping fellow cyclists?? Roadies v MTB'ers

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Big_Dave

The unlikely Cyclist
I don't know about you guys, but, If I see a fellow cyclist looking as tho they are fixing their bike at the side of the road/trail etc then I will always stop and offer assistance, yesterday I was out on my road bike and got a puncture, and for the first time ever I had forgot to swap the pump over from my other bike which meant I had no pump and miles from anywhere, a couple of roadies go past looking the other way, an MTB'er pulls up and gladly lends me his pump.
Today I go out on a ride on my old Raleigh road bike, guess what I get a puncture, this time I have everything to repair it, But in that time over a dozen roadies ride past and not one asks if I'm ok or need assistance. I am fairly new to road bikes but have been an MTB'er for the last 15yrs and I have never seen this behavior from mtb'ers they always stop to see if everything is ok. I also find Roadies don't acknowledge each other like MTB'ers do.
Are Roadies just plain arrogant bike snobs or have just had a bad experience or are they too busy trying to get a PR on Strava to stop?

U

User6179

:popcorn:

vickster

Legendary Member
I think it is more a reflection on the human being than the bike between their legs

I have had assistance offered by roadies too, being a helpless female may help :whistle:

snorri

Legendary Member
The last two broken down cyclists to whom I offered assistance expressed gratitude to me for stopping but informed me they had already phoned home and were waiting for their wives to pick them up in a car.
I suppose some cyclists think all cyclists have a phone and a wife with a car:biggrin:.
Don't get me into the acknowledging debate, I just don't care:smile:

ScotiaLass

Guru
I'm always offered help when out (even if I've just stopped to alter my seat) but it could be the low cut vest top...