Hitting a wall at 160bpm

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Firm Button

im new to cycling but have worked up to do 150km every week in 3 rides a week. But I’m finding that when riding with experienced cyclists I’m left behind very easily on hills (to be expected I suppose) I am finding I can keep up un my heart rate hits 160 bpm or above my lungs just cant get enough air in. And I end up on the lowest gears and slowing to a crawl.
Any advice on how to get up to snuff?
Steve

So long as no other health issues, I'd say just stick at it, but don't forget to rest sometimes also. Instead of one ride, go for a long walk occasionally, let the other muscle groups catch up a bit.

nickAKA

Über Member
im new to cycling but have worked up to do 150km every week in 3 rides a week. But I’m finding that when riding with experienced cyclists I’m left behind very easily on hills (to be expected I suppose) I am finding I can keep up un my heart rate hits 160 bpm or above my lungs just cant get enough air in. And I end up on the lowest gears and slowing to a crawl.
Steve

Assuming you're of a "certain age" ie. no spring chicken like my good self, the upper limit of your heart rate won't improve much if my experiences are anything to go by. You will however, with increased fitness & training, become more efficient and be able to put out more power at your current 'comfortable' heart rate and recover much quicker across the board.
I top out and have to recover at ~180bpm; this has always been the case, but I can do a lot more at <180bpm than I could 12 months ago so I rarely venture into that realm because it's deeply unpleasant...
I'm nearly 47 and have lost quite a bit of timber over the last 12 months; in real world terms that weight loss & increased fitness has turned me into a capable climber rather than a gibbering wreck on the hills, so stick at it, hard work will get you there!

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!