Hybrid not as comfortable as I thought- now what?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kbaby

Hi,

I'm new to cycling. My children have reached an age where they can cycle unaided and so for the first time since a child I decided to give cycling a go. After some research I bought myself a cheap hybrid bike. Mainly because it could be a fad and the bike left in the garage.

This is the one I got http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/partNumber/3177088.htm

I used it yesterday for the first time. It was slower than I had imagined and peddling it seemed an effort compared to an older mountain bike I had used initially.

I only cycled on the road and some pavements but when going over any bumps on the pavements I could feel the bumps hitting the wheel rim.

What am I doing wrong or what can I add to the bike to make it a better ride?
Thanks

MikeW-71

Veteran
Sounds straight away like your tyre pressures are way too low. You should be looking for 70psi or more depending on tyre size.

moonjiver