I don't think I know what I'm doing on the bike.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm starting to think that maybe I'm not riding as intended. OR I should have got a cassette/chain ring with higher gears.

I've started to do my rides in the largest chainring. But regardless,on the flat I'm still needing the highest gears. Maybe I'm getting fitter or my legs are getting stronger or both?

I would think the normal progression is higher gears ? I'm still a novice in respect of my understanding of gearing etc.

Alex321

Veteran
I'm starting to think that maybe I'm not riding as intended. OR I should have got a cassette/chain ring with higher gears.

I've started to do my rides in the largest chainring. But regardless,on the flat I'm still needing the highest gears. Maybe I'm getting fitter or my legs are getting stronger or both?

I would think the normal progression is higher gears ? I'm still a novice in respect of my understanding of gearing etc.

What ratios do you have (chainring and cassette)?

It is hard t respond to this without knowing at a minimum what your large ring and smallest sprocket are.

What ratios do you have (chainring and cassette)?

It is hard t respond to this without knowing at a minimum what your large ring and smallest sprocket are.
I know I have 11/32 cassette. Of the 2 chainrings I would have to count the teeth on them and report back here.
Are you enjoying riding?

If yes, just carry on and don't worry about it. If not, change things!
I'm enjoying riding more now than previous years. I got this (winter bike) in Oct 2017

I'm not one for burying my head in the sand if I can improve things. Thus, if I find out that higher gearing is better for me I will upgrade.

The problem is I don't understand much about gears. I'm thinking, what about the hills if I fit higher gears.

Alex321

Veteran
I know I have 11/32 cassette. Of the 2 chainrings I would have to count the teeth on them and report back here.