Stuff that happens as you get older

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ExBrit

Über Member
Please let's restrict this to cycling stuff.

I'm 64 currently and I've been riding 200 mile bike rides for over 30 years and I've noticed in the last 10 years I've changed. For example, I have terrible cramping problems during the night after a double century no matter how many bananas, cup o' noodles, and salt pills I consume. I'm also less tolerant of high sugar drinks. On the plus side, I no longer go into dark, negative moods while riding and I rarely bonk.

What can I look forward to in the next ten years?

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it
At 62 I still enjoy my cycling just wish I had more spare time to do more.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
As we get older our bodies change. You should be taking plenty of protein but not a lot of fat. I'm not surprised you're less tolerant to high sugar drinks, you shouldn't be taking them at all. Even natural fruit juice has sugar so don't take too much of that either.
Same with too much salt, why are you taking salt pills? ORS has a small amount of salt which is fine. I'm nearly ten years older than you and get very dehydrated here but all I need is plenty of water.
Maybe you should consult a nutritionist or check out advice online or from your doc. I don't think there's much you can't do with the correct diet.

Last edited:

Jameshow

Veteran
Please let's restrict this to cycling stuff.

I'm 64 currently and I've been riding 200 mile bike rides for over 30 years and I've noticed in the last 10 years I've changed. For example, I have terrible cramping problems during the night after a double century no matter how many bananas, cup o' noodles, and salt pills I consume. I'm also less tolerant of high sugar drinks. On the plus side, I no longer go into dark, negative moods while riding and I rarely bonk.

What can I look forward to in the next ten years?

Have you tried electrolyte type drinks?