Installing a dynamo hub & lights on the Charge Plug commuter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JhnBssll

Veteran
I've been looking at dynamo powered lights for a while and yesterday I finally ordered some bits. I'm a pretty competent mechanic but having never fitted a dynamo before I thought I'd run through my plans to see if I'm about to do anything dim or make my life harder than it need be :okay: With that said I'm a bit of a perfectionist at times so the install will be as neat as I can make it :laugh: Anyway, this is the gear I've bought:

- SP PD-8 6V 3W dynamo hub, 24 hole in black
- Busch + Muller IQ-X LED Headlight in black
- Busch + Muller Toplight Line Small back light
- Twin core cable to run from front to back
- 24 black spokes and nipples

The hub will be going in to this Mavic Aksium Disc wheel, replacing the standard one:

20190113_233025.jpg

The headlight will be mounted on the fork crown but I'll need to tidy up the cable and hose runs to minimise shadowing...

20190113_233015.jpg

I'm going to try and run the cables as neatly as I can so have decided on the following cable route, where pink lines show wires attached with tape (clear gorilla tape on the forks and black electrical tape on the rack) and yellow lines show the wires shrinkwrapped to the rear hydraulic brake hose with black heat shrink tubing...

20190114_193922.jpg
20190114_193941.jpg
20190114_193958.jpg

The rear light is the rack mount type so will simply screw to the mounting point. I'll likely solder the joints rather than rely on the provided terminals, unless theres a reason why I should do so :laugh:

So what haven't I thought of? The front light has a built in voltage regulator and outputs to power the rear light. Seems I just connect the hub to the front light and the front light to the rear light and it should just work... :highfive::laugh:

rogerzilla

Legendary Member