Is a bread free diet pointless if you keep at the spuds?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
My favourite ranty subject. I find myself agreeing with Yello here again :hello: Sorry Yello, death by association for you once more I'm afraid.

The human body is complex. I doubt anyone would dispute that. Not all foods, be they rich in carbs, protein or fat, are the same. Everyone is different, every food is different. You can be a high level ultra endurance athlete fueling yourself on animal fats over carbs with plenty of fresh veg (I know one who does this personally and he knows more who do), carbs or some other choice. Scott User10571 was a vegan and a winner of the Badwater ultra marathon. Not sure how he did that but I'm no expert.

What is clear is that just going low fat isn't working for a lot of people and is not the only way to lose weight. The devil is in the detail also. How do you go low fat? How do you go low carb? Government health advice does not move other than to further reduce "fat". What is fat? How is it made? How does your body process it? What is cholesterol? How does being physically active affect this?