Is used $400 2020 Trek FX Sport 4 worth it

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

noobike

Hi, my first ever post here. I found this used 2020 Trek FX Sport 4 for C$400 and wondering if I should buy it or buy brand new fx disk 2 or giant escape 2 for around C$1000. Looking to commute from home to workplace which is about 10km. I asked the seller few questions and he said
- he rides it once or twice a week since 2020 March
- the odometer on the computer has 3000 km on it
- Last serviced in February 2022
- he said no parts needing repair or replacement. The bike never had any replacement done since it was bought.
- It comes with SPD pedals and doesn’t come with regular pedals so I’ll have to pay for those.

I have no knowledge about bike to inspect in person. I feel like I should buy new because I need to pay for pedal replacement, the bike was rode a lot, have no knowledge about judging bikes conditions, and pay for the bike to be serviced.

However $1000 vs $400 is a big difference and 2020 trek fx sport 4 seems like a great model to get for $400, especially for me mainly going to ride it in urban area for commuting.

I can’t decide…

Kingfisher101

Über Member
Hi, my first ever post here. I found this used 2020 Trek FX Sport 4 for C$400 and wondering if I should buy it or buy brand new fx disk 2 or giant escape 2 for around C$1000. Looking to commute from home to workplace which is about 10km. I asked the seller few questions and he said
- he rides it once or twice a week since 2020 March
- the odometer on the computer has 3000 km on it
- Last serviced in February 2022
- he said no parts needing repair or replacement. The bike never had any replacement done since it was bought.
- It comes with SPD pedals and doesn’t come with regular pedals so I’ll have to pay for those.