'King's Road' trip W. Denmark to St Petersburg

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lost_in_thought

Hi all! Complete newbie here!

I'm considering a trip from Essex to St Petersburg, leaving early September, getting back when I get back.

My current plan involves ferry harwich-bergen, cycle to Copenhagen, up to Oskarshamm, ferry to Gotland, explore, ferry to Nynashamm, on to Stockholm, ferry to Finland, and across to St Petersburg.

I've never done any kind of touring before, but do a good 400 miles per month commuting and leisure riding. I have a Tifosi CK7, is this a decent bike for touring? Can it take front panniers? Do I need them?

Also, how long would you allow for 100km? I reckon 100km a day is realistic, am I insane?

Has anyone any experience of getting into Russia? I'm not concerned about the peace-loving Scandis, but the last section of the trip down to St Petersburg is a touch concerning, especially as I'd be a girl on my own.

I'd also prefer to camp, have been looking at tents etc from the search function, is it realistic to carry tent/mat/sleeping bag/food/stove in just rear panniers? Should I be looking for campsites, or planning to just stop somewhere?

A friend and I are also planning to do the canal du midi in late August, which I'd be looking at as a trial run.

Any advice at all would be much appreciated! Sorry for the spanish inquisition (nobody expects it). :sad:

Haitch

Flim Flormally
Leaving in September? Just before the start of the winter?

OP
OP
L

lost_in_thought

Yep. Unfortunately I can't leave earlier, but I don't mind the cold. It's not actually that far, I'm anticipating being home before October. Unless, of course, that's completely unrealistic!

Brains

Legendary Member
A trip to Russia in the Autumn.

May a suggest a quick read of any book on Operation Barbarossa or the history of the Grand Armee.

Right place, wrong time.

OP
OP
L

lost_in_thought