Muddyfox blade - decent bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DC88

Hey Guys,

as im sure you can see by my post count I am pretty new to this forum and thought I would ask some experts opinion on a bike. Basically my situation is this - I am a student with two more years of uni, Im often on placements and want to use a bike to get there so I can get some exercise and generally enjoy the commute to work. Im currently on an old raleigh mountain bike that was won at a police auction and throws its chain off every other time you change gear.

So im looking to upgrade within a student budget (preferably <£200, 300 at a push) and after hours of ebaying found this bike on amazon (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Muddyfox-Bl...WARRANTY/dp/B005G8FYJI/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp).
Its within price range, but to be honest after shopping around (even on ebay) that makes me a little worried. What would some of you more experienced riders think? I need this to last for 2 years at least when I hopefully can get something on a cycle to work scheme. I know about the downtube gear shift which I hear is a bit of a pain, but there's none within budget which dont have this feature it seems....

Thanks in advance

D

galactico

save an extra ton and look at this
http://www.decathlon.co.uk/EN/triban-3-173178017/
you could get a better second hand bike than the muddy fox IMO

+1 for 2nd hand. Check out ebay and similar sites. I would never recommend anyone buying a new bike for £160 tbh. I appreciate it has a 12 month warranty, and that's good because you'll need it, but it won't help you get to lectures while it's away being repaired, (regularly).

The Decathlon bikes get good reviews, so if you can muster the extra £140 go for that, if not defo buy used :thumbsup:

If you buy wisely you can even sell it on when you've done with it, (assuming you don't want to keep it), whereas the Muddy Fox probably wouldn't be fit to give away let alone sell on.

Matthew_T