New to cycling. Average speeds? How long to improve?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

onepedalaway

I have been cycling for two months now and is strange as my muscles ache like no other! Not like running anyway (Runner by trade) Anyway, I started off with a few 10 milers in the first few weeks then two weeks ago did a few 30 milers and did a 68 miler on Saturday. I am averaging 18 mph which feels really slow. That and irritates me that I am passed by the club riders with me being competitive. As I am riding solo and conscious that the clubs will be too quick is there any beginners clubs I could go to? (Live in Bolton)

How quick does it take to improve this? Also 68 miles is short for a number of riders so how long does it take to get used to 100 mile + distances?

Look forward to your advice. . .

Kind regards

Onepedalaway

Slaav

Veteran
I will be interested for the experienced and non newbies to answer this as your 'progress' appears pretty good to me!

Out of interest, traced a very small portion of the Cotswold Classic Sportive this morning and a couple of the smaller groups were up at around 20mph even after 60 and 100 miles. May have been sprint finishing but you never know :biggrin:

Glover Fan

Out of interest, traced a very small portion of the Cotswold Classic Sportive this morning and a couple of the smaller groups were up at around 20mph even after 60 and 100 miles. May have been sprint finishing but you never know :biggrin:
Well i've done a bit of running before, including races and there is a thing known as a "negative split" as in you aim for the second half of the race to be faster than the first half and I for one have carried this over to cycling events and I always finish an audax or long ride quicker than I start it.