New wheels question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cabbieman

Hi. I'm thinking of upgrading my wheels which have disc brakes on. My question is, are all wheels compatible with disc brakes? As you can tell, I'm a newbie and not sure what or which goes where. Is there a dummies guide to wheels?

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
You need to buy disc compatible wheels ,it really depends on what bike and wheels you have as there is a few standards regarding axle width , wheel clamping ( quick release, thru axle etc )

Hi. I'm thinking of upgrading my wheels which have disc brakes on. My question is, are all wheels compatible with disc brakes? As you can tell, I'm a newbie and not sure what or which goes where. Is there a dummies guide to wheels?
Tell us what bike you have, and some pics of the wheels, some closeups of the hubs?

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
To be frank, at your level of understanding and without knowing what you are trying to achieve through the 'upgrade' I would suggest that as long as your current wheels are working you should stick with them. It is doubtful you will notice much, if any, difference in feel. I certainly don't, but I judge my wheels by reliability and longevity. On the other hand if you have money to waste and want some bling then go for it.....

cyberknight

To be frank, at your level of understanding and without knowing what you are trying to achieve through the 'upgrade' I would suggest that as long as your current wheels are working you should stick with them. It is doubtful you will notice much, if any, difference in feel. I certainly don't, but I judge my wheels by reliability and longevity. On the other hand if you have money to waste and want some bling then go for it.....