Night Time Cycling advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

spacecowboy831

I am after some advice on cycling at night. I enjoy cycling what I would call long distance usually between 30 and 50 miles during the day. But I would like to do a 30 to 50 mile round trip night ride. I know there are some advantages and disadvantages to this. I have a MTB which a always use for my cycling. Most of my routes are a mixture of roads and cycle paths and some narrow country roads. I know some of my daytime cycling routes would not be well lit at night due to the lack of street lighting. I was thinking of making my first night ride a route that I am familiar with during the day.

My only concern is do I stick with the unlit cycle path or go a longer way round and stay on the road. I do have 2 decent front bike lights one of which is 450 lumens and the other is 1000 lumens. My back light is 80 lumens.

Apart from riding a bike I have very little mechanical Knowledge. I could of course repair a puncture if I needed. But if I was to have any other issues I'm not sure I would now what to do. I do have my cycle insurance with ETA which includes a 24 hour cycle recovery.

I should also add that I would be cycling alone and not in any groups.

Does anyone have any experience with night rides?
Do you manly stick to lit road or lit cycle paths?
What sort of essentials do you take with you?
Are there any times at night that should be avoided?

Thank you in advance.

classic33

Leg End Member
What's your own confidence in your cycling like.

Night rides are fun but it's good to do a route that you know pretty well. It's very different at night without seeing the landscape around.

Take a head torch too as it's hard to fix things and hold a torch.

its usually colder at night so be very careful if ice is forecast.