Opinion Needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigTone0777

Hi all, as some of you may already know from previous posts I am an extremely unfit returning after 10 years off the bike cyclist! I started riding a bit again 3 months ago on what I like to call a flat barred roadie. I got myself comfortably up to 10 mile rides on top of my 6 mile daily commute but not sure if I've been over doing it a bit lately. I managed to push myself up to 20-25 mile rides but am now finding that I am getting so tired that the thought of getting out for a ride seems like too much effort. I know no pain no gain and all that but do you think I'd be better off sticking to 10 to 12 mile rides on an almost daily basis than maybe pushing myself a bit too hard? I think I'm frustrated at the fact 10 year ago I could do 80 to 100 mile club runs and now I can't do jack lol. I am not looking to break any records, just get myself a little fitter as I sit on my arse for a living now and like I say, I'M SO UNFIT!

Thanks in advance for your replies and great advice!

tyred

Legendary Member
Ride whatever distance you feel comfortable to begin with and then gradually start to increase the mileage. Just add a few miles at time and accept it as a long term project. A large jump may be possible but you risk over doing it and losing interest. Also, don't worry too much about speed. As the miles clock up, you will find yourself going faster anyway.

OP
OP
BigTone0777

BigTone0777

Ride whatever distance you feel comfortable to begin with and then gradually start to increase the mileage. Just add a few miles at time and accept it as a long term project. A large jump may be possible but you risk over doing it and losing interest. Also, don't worry too much about speed. As the miles clock up, you will find yourself going faster anyway.

Thanks tyred.