Pedal question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mynydd

Veteran
hi, after a bit of advice.
I've been using basic spd (shimano m520's) for a few years, and have them on both my commuter and road bike.
I've just taken the plunge and ordered a canyon endurace (carbon) as this'll be my good weather bike is it worth me considering different, more road orientated pedals? I have pair of summer shoes that I could put different cleats on.
Or would it be purely cosmetic, and make no difference?
I'd appreciate your views.
Thanks

vickster

Legendary Member
No difference probably but only you can tell. Maybe give it a try. Can get SPD-SL pedals with cleats for £30 so if you have the shoes.
Don't expect to be able to walk very far though which would put me off and the slipperiness!
The other reason is not being able to clip in on both sides of the pedal like the M520 which are super pedals for that reason

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
The only difference would be the look. I don't see the point of giving up a tried and tested pedal just for the look. I have the 520s on my Carbon Di2 roadbike. They are fine.

13 rider

Guru
I have SPD pedals on my roadie and hybrid so only need 1 pair of shoes . Can't see the point of different shoes for different bikes . There may be a marginal gain using SPD L pedals and shoes but if your not racing it's not enough for me to consider changing .I do believe SPD L pedals look better on a roadie but once your on the bike you can no longer see the pedals

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
I use both types on different bikes. As others have said the SPD pedals in my opinion are slightly easier to clip in/out and the recessed cleat allow for easy walking however the M520 are quite heavy. If you have just purchased a new carbon Canyon then a lighter Look Keo carbon or Shimano Ultegra/Dura Ace SPD-SL may be what you are looking for.

Last edited:

chr15b

Über Member