PULSE RATE!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CyclingSAM

Ok im 15.. I have a road bike and also a stationary bike it rates my pulse..

My normal pulse is 69-74 when just sitting there waiting for it.

Is this good?

What should my pulse actually be?

Is there a certain pulse to be 100% fit?

yello

Welcome to the forum CyclingSam.

Your pulse sounds fine to me, but I'm no doctor.

There isn't really a single pulse rate that defines fitness, there are too many individual factors that come into the equation, but I guess there's an age related broad spectrum that suggests good physical condition. I'd say you're comfortably in that range for your age.

Is there a reason you ask? Anything else giving you cause for concern?

OP
OP
C

CyclingSAM

Just wanted to see if i was fit i want to be 100% fit, my dream is to get on the tour de france.

Hopefully go for it at 25 years old.

montage

God Almighty
CyclingSAM said:
Just wanted to see if i was fit i want to be 100% fit, my dream is to get on the tour de france.

Hopefully go for it at 25 years old.

I imagine TdF riders have a pulse rate of around 45/50 (if not lower) while resting. 69-74 is "average/healthy" I believe. No reason why you can't get fitter, being 15 is just about young enough to aim for a career like this. How much do you train? Are you going to college? (Going to college after GCSE's and pursuing a sport such as cycling isn't easy if you wish to excell in both). The competition will be tough, so if you aren't training enough, start now!

Young Un

Yeah, good luck in your TdF pursuit.

What kind of training are you doing currently?
Have you done any races yet?
Have you been scouted yet?
Your never too young to get sponsership and start working your way up!

Steve (14 year old)

OP
OP
C

CyclingSAM

Im trying to get in a cycling club at the moment, its hard to find stuff like this around here in the southeast of england.