Second hand bike problems!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Weejacko

Before I start, I am a complete cycling novice, so apologies if my language is not so technical!

Okay so, I bought a bike in lockdown (2012 claud butler San remo) and it's been riding perfect, until now.

I ride daily to and from work and as the weeks pass I and realising there's a slight gravelly feeling when I pedal. Now I've googled and googled for days and have deducted it down to my chain and/or bottom bracket.

My problems arise when I don't know what chain I need (8rings on the back, 2 on the front), and I have no idea what bottom bracket I have so I can replace it.

I have emailed many bike shops in my area, all of which are useless to me or just not replying to emails or calls.

Any help is welcome but remember I am a total noob.

Locating funny noises and feelings in the transmission can be tricky so I start with the easiest to fix which is pedals.

Stock pedals are plastic. Spin them by hand and feel for any grinding, sticking or sloppy movement. They may be serviceable.
If pedals pass, check for chain rubbing something under pedalling force. Maybe the front derailleur or chainring.

The chain just wears out and wears the teeth into sharks fin shapes if you leave it too long. It doesnt really feel different. Any 8 speed chain is OK ( but not the special singlespeed ones).

My bottom bracket is past worn but the square taper cartridge style can soldier on for hundreds of miles and there is no definitive point of worn out. Do the cranks turn smoothly. Is there any movement of the cranks side to side? This can cause chain rub.
The replacement according to spec sheet is 115mm axle square taper cartridge such as Shimano UN 52.

Doing the work yourself needs special tools and is probably best left to bike shop for now. Do you know of a local bike shop? Which town?

OP
OP
W

Weejacko