Shoes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Amheirchion

Hi, I'm currently in the market for some new trainers, as my current ones have holes in the soles and are horrendous in the rain.
I'm after something suitable for cycling and for day to day wear, which at the moment means:
Fairly stiff soled, but still suitable for general wear around town.
Fast drying or fairly water repellent for those rainy commutes.
Not fugly.

I favour skate style trainers normally, and the plainer the better. My current pair of Airwalks are still usable, just not in the wet, or when it has been raining as they soaki up water like a sponge and as mentioned have holes in the soles leading to wet socks.

Does anyone have any suggestions, and/or ideas which shops to take a look around.

P.S. I'm a poor student, so nothing that will cost me an arm and a leg.
P.P.S. Thanks for reading.

Fiona N

Veteran
I think you'll find most people around these parts use cycle-specific shoes with or without cleats for clipless pedals (e.g. Shimano spds).

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
Decathlon do some quite good value walking shoes with a decent grip so if you are not after clip in cycle specific shoes good for not slipping off pedals. fugly is in the eye of the beholder! :thumbsup:

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's
I was with you up until the poor student and within a budget bit, only because I've done the same sort of searches and they all seem to be expensive. The best I've found are from Five-Ten:-

http://fiveten.com/products/product-search/tag/gendertype/mens_m23/