Some puncture repair questions (with pictures)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lockheed

I have no experience in repairing punctures, so I thought it's better to ask someone more experienced if there is any point.

So, question #1 - tube puncture:

is there any point in fixing it? I'd like to use it with at least 70-80psi, maybe even 100.

Question #2 - tyre puncture:

The tyre has two punctures like this. They are rather small but go all the way through the tyre. I suppose they do not render it unusable but I do not know if they should be repaired in anyway or just left as they are.

Now, this looks more serious from the outside. The rift is at least 1mm deep but there is no trace of it on the inner side of the tyre.

Should (and what) I do anything about those or can I just use the tyre as is, as long as the inner tube is al-right? I intend to use it around its maximal allowed pressure.

gbb

Legendary Member
Hiya lockheed...
Picture 1...depends on how desperate you are (stuck in the middle of nowhere without a spare...you fix it)...just need a big patch..preferably from a good quality kit.
Picture 2...no problem, just use a small patch over each individual hole
Picture 3..slits that havnt gone through the casing are probably ok..but inevitably its not ideal. Regardless, i'd ride with that, just keep your eye on it getting bigger.

Some here will throw a tube as soon as its punctured...not because you should, but probably because a new tube isnt that expensive to some peoples way of thinking. Personally, i have tubes with 10 or more repairs on...its no problem really.
I'd get a good quality repair kit...some of the cheaper ones are rubbish.

Norm

Pretty much exactly what gbb said from me too. I'd repair the tube, patch the tyre and watch the splits.

threefingerjoe

Über Member