Struggling with compact chainset

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pjays666

Über Member
Hi all I have been riding a hybrid with a triple for the last 20 months. Having just picked up my new road bike which has a compact I find that when climbing I am looking for a smaller gear that isn't there. Is this common , will I get used to it or will I have to change to triple? I have only had bike for a couple of weeks and only done 3 rides but living where I do hills are unavoidable

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Stick with it.

What cassette have you got on the back (teeth size). You can change these more cheaply, then move back once your fitness increases.

maltloaf

What's your rear cassette ? I was having a similar issue but I changed my cassette for a 12-30 and it's helped loads. That and getting out and getting better through practicing.

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
A compact with a 30t on the rear will give a similar lowest gear to a triple with a 25t on the rear. For me the biggest issue with a compact is the big jump in ratios when dropping from the large to the small ring on the front. It just isn't as smooth as a standard double or triple.

maltloaf

The bigger number is your lowest gear and the bigger it is, the easier it is. Yours is 28 mine is 30 (= easier) you can fit a 32 on many modern road mechs but check yours before buying

slowmotion

Quite dreadful