Tent recommendations

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LouiseL

Hello,

I am a complete camping novice- I've never camped in my life even as a kid so please be patient.

I'm looking into cycle touring in France next year and camping seems to be the cheapest option (excluding the initial outlay). I thought I'd start with the big item first-what tent? I've done a lot of looking (on the 'net only at the moment) and am drawn towards the Terra Nova Laser. The tent will be just for me plus gear. Has anyone any experience of this tent in any of its various incarnations. My initial feeling is that the Laser would be fine size wise but that the Laser competition or photon could be a bit cramped. Whilst I'm not looking to hold a party in the tent I do need to consider that if it rains several evenings on the trot I could potentially be spending a lot of time in it. I am but a weak and feeble female so tent weight is a big issue for me.

The other tent that caught my eye is the Big Agnes seedhouse SL2. Its bigger but packs smaller -presumably due to its mesh inner tent (would that be a tad chilly say in Scotland) but weighs more at 1.6kg. The Laser is 1.24kg so I think that's about a Lb difference( I'm showing my age- I have to keep playing with bags of sugar when talking in Kgs or it's meaningless). That isn't much on its own but the extra would need to be bourne in mind along with the weights of my other kit decisions.

Any comments or other suggestions gratefully received.

I'll be getting to sleeping bags/mats later....

snorri

Legendary Member
Terra Nova Laser. The tent will be just for me plus gear. Has anyone any experience of this tent in any of its various incarnations.