Threadlock

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bonker

Guru
Do you use thread lock?
I've been dismantling and cleaning brakes and gear changers lately. Most had been assembled in the lbs using thread lock. Do most people use it on home mechanics?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Nope

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Another no from me.

When I worked as a car mechanic (Saturday boy) threadlock and instant gaskets were viewed by the proper mechanics as the preserve of the home bodger.

However, times change and I believe threadlock is used by manufacturers on some fixings.

If the manufacturer uses it, it's only common sense to use it when reassembling.

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
Another no from me.

When I worked as a car mechanic (Saturday boy) threadlock and instant gaskets were viewed by the proper mechanics as the preserve of the home bodger.

However, times change and I believe threadlock is used by manufacturers on some fixings.

If the manufacturer uses it, it's only common sense to use it when reassembling.
I suspect that some manufacturers use thread lockers and other engineering adhesives for the specific purpose of rendering their product un-serviceable. It's just a sales ploy.

weareHKR

Yup I too am a "real engineer" & I use it regularly on machine rebuilds.
On bikes I tend to use a dab of 243 (medium strength) on brake caliper mount bolts & rotor bolts, chainring bolts & handlebar clamp screws.

Ajax Bay

Guru
Another engineer by education here.
I use threadlock (same strength as @weareHKR uses) for the locations listed below. These are all fixings that I do not plan to undo till end of life or are difficult to check. I fail to see why @slowmotion thinks an item is made unserviceable by the judicious use of threadlocker.
BB right hand side (normally already on the thread (eg UN-55))
Chainring bolts