To Brooks, or not Brooks?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ruraldean

Regular
Hi. Having decided to cherish my old but immaculate Pioneer Trail rather than upscale, my mind has turned to the question of saddles. At the moment I'm doing a leisurely 10km every couple of days, so nothing earth shattering, but I've fancied a Brooks saddle ever since starting riding again.
So, Brooks or not, fully sprung or not? I'm 65 and 15 stone if that helps.
No need to insult me, i have scales and mirrors. :becool:

raleighnut

Legendary Member
i would but then I've got 8 Brooks now, the sprung ones weigh a fair bit the standard ones less so but still a bit 'weighty' and the Titanium rail ones are the lightest (but more expensive)

My favourite is my B17n (narrow)

I've been using a Brooks B66 for a few years now on one of my bikes. It is comfy for me, and the springs may help with this. This is my first and only Brooks to date. Got it second hand, with a leather saddle bag, for 30 quid. My other bike has a five quid saddle bought locally, which is just as comfortable I'd say. It's all a lottery with saddles - striving to find the least uncomfortable one.

hoopdriver

Guru
I've ridden on nothing but Brooks saddles for over 35 years. As we all know, saddles are highly personal things - what is great for one is awful for another - but Brooks have been around for an awful lot of years and have an awful lot of loyal fans (like me) who will ride on nothing else. I have never found them difficult to break in, not in the least, and so comfortable that I don't give my saddle the least bit of thought. I ride a lot. I used one on a 10,000-mile trek around Australia - that was 24 years ago. I stll have it, and use it. THey last forever.