training advice ??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kimz

Ok im only new to this forum but ive cycled for many years but no great distance like ive said before i do 12 miles round trip to check on horses most days but not every day plus bits here and there adding upto 25 to 30 miles some days so........

i am wanting to do some sponsered rides but.... no idea where to start i have been looking at the london to bournemouth in july but if i started training in march is there anyway i can be reaady for july 4 months ???

and can anyone help putting a training schedule together for me ?:wacko:

nosherduke996

Doing the sort of mileage you are already doing is a good start. Untill last June i hadn,t been on a bike for over 30 years, so i decided to do the London to Brighton and even rode back which totalled 76 miles. That was only riding a couple of 10 mile commutes to work for about 6 weeks before the LtoB.
Now theres no stopping me, currently putting in about 200 to 280 miles a month which i will increase when the light evenings are here. I am really feeling the benifit of all this now as i have just turned 54 years old and at the moment i have never felt better.

OP
OP
K

kimz

did you have a racer ? i only use a mountain bike would this go against me ? no idea as ive never done anything like this before so its very daunting just thinking about it but no use doing a sponsered ride unless there is a challenge is there:evil:

MLC

Kimz,

I am in a similar position to you training for the although I am training for a 160km / 100 mile audax this year. I can only get out at weekends for any serious mileage.

I just set myself a plan of doing the commuting and upping my mileage by 5 miles every other week and completing a day ride of 40/50/60/70/80 miles in the months leading up to the event.