upgrading brompton b75

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

yoho oy

Newbie here. I was looking for long time at Brompton for a long time, but never dared to pay so much money for a bike. But I am warming up to the idea of it. Unfortunately back in a day when I was looking at Bromptons, 3 speed bikes were at £1000 +, now even entry level B75 went up £100 to £850. At this point it should be called B85, not B75. In any case, I was wondering would it be possible to upgrade B75 to M3L equivalent and would it be worth more than £1290? I don't care much about seat, post or steering wheel upgrade, I think for a while it would be just fine. Folding pedal is not such a big issue either. I think the easiest parts are mudguards addition, but what I don't understand is shifters and brake parts. What exact parts would I need? Does anyone have issues with standard B75 shifter?

Tenkaykev

Guru
Newbie here. I was looking for long time at Brompton for a long time, but never dared to pay so much money for a bike. But I am warming up to the idea of it. Unfortunately back in a day when I was looking at Bromptons, 3 speed bikes were at £1000 +, now even entry level B75 went up £100 to £850. At this point it should be called B85, not B75. In any case, I was wondering would it be possible to upgrade B75 to M3L equivalent and would it be worth more than £1290? I don't care much about seat, post or steering wheel upgrade, I think for a while it would be just fine. Folding pedal is not such a big issue either. I think the easiest parts are mudguards addition, but what I don't understand is shifters and brake parts. What exact parts would I need? Does anyone have issues with standard B75 shifter?
Take a look at Brilliant Bikes YouTube channel. There’s a wealth of extremely useful Brompton specific information and tutorials on there, including a detailed explanation of the differences between the B75 and the “ standard “ model.

alicat

Legendary Member