What's in a cleat?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi,

I have purchased myself some SPD-SL clipless road pedals, along with some DHB shoes. I have shimano yellow cleats. I am after some advice please on what the different colour (and therefore angled) cleats will do for me?

Thanks, Paul

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Make you fall off sideways when you come to a stop when you forget you are using them! ^_^

OP
OP
The 300lb Cyclist
Many thanks for your reply, I will have a read.
I have gone from complete newbie on flats to full on road pedals. They're fantastic! Yes, I have had a couple of moments but not (yet) actually fallen off. I find, as a newbie, they come into their own on climbs when I need an extra 5% and by actually focussing on my pedalling technique rather than the hill in front of me, I become more efficient and can actually get up the hill. The bad news is that the (plastic) cleats wear quite quickly if you do walk in them, which by the way, I have no issue with. I would advise using them but then I have not tried anything else.

Thanks again for your reply. If you're inclined, please follow me on my journey, which I am blogging about here

vickster

Legendary Member
Hi,

I have purchased myself some SPD-SL clipless road pedals, along with some DHB shoes. I have shimano yellow cleats. I am after some advice please on what the different colour (and therefore angled) cleats will do for me?

Thanks, Paul
It’s the float ie movement you can get in the pedal. Probably covered in the beginner FAQ. Nothing to do with performance but more your lower limb anatomy

You can get cleat covers if you can be bothered

OP
OP
The 300lb Cyclist
It’s the float ie movement you can get in the pedal. Probably covered in the beginner FAQ. Nothing to do with performance but more your lower limb anatomy

You can get cleat covers if you can be bothered