X-tremities available as spare parts?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cheys03

Veteran
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/393386358941?hash=item5b97a7789d:g:7N8AAOSwcdtdwFCN

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/302637049082?hash=item467692e4fa:g:9CEAAOSw1T1cQ88J

I have no experience, and personally wouldn’t trust them without first hearing a few in-depth reviews. That can be Googled too.

berlinonaut

Veteran
There are also plenty of offerings on sites like aliexpress - but as @cheys03 says: Just because something looks similar it is not necessarily identical in quality and fit. That does not mean that all these offerings are necessarily of low quality. The problem is you cannot judge as you don't know who made these items, how competent he is and to what quality standards he follows if any. So it is a bet and in the worst case a bet with your life.

The original Brompton ti-parts have been and are available via the Brompton dealership network. Not cheap, but not much more expensive than the 3rd-party clone parts. Currently the problem is the general shortage of Brompton parts plus that for some years now Brompton in the UK sell frame parts only along with fitting them by a dealer. This policy differs depending from the country, in the UK it has been like that for a couple of years now.

Last edited:

rogerzilla

Legendary Member
There is a case for only selling the rear triangles through a dealer, as you'd probably want new frame bushes, having gone to the effort of removing the steel triangle, and few people (not even all dealers!) have the special reamer.

The fork, less so: any bike shop, and many home mechanics, can bang a 1 1/8" crown race into place, and the Ti fork crown race seat comes nicely prepped so you don't need a crown race cutter.

OP
OP
D

deejayen

Veteran
Thanks very much.