App or Garmin

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

annirak

Veteran
I have been using a mobile for tracking my rides for about 3 years. It's got good points and bad points. I'm thinking of either moving to a paid app or to a Garmin.

I have a Wahoo RFLKT, so if I move to a paid app, it should support that.
I am mostly happy with what the Wahoo app provides, but it doesn't manage a couple of things I'd like: mobile notifications and turn-by-turn navigation of pre-loaded routes.

I don't want to mount my mobile to my handlebars. While this is a good solution in general, it has a couple of drawbacks: I need a case for wet weather, but cases make it hard to see the screen. The screen can't stay on for a whole ride or I'll have no battery left.

If I go for a Garmin, I want to be able to navigate along a pre-loaded route, I want integration with Speed/Cadence sensors and HRMs. Integration with a Garmin smartwatch for HRM would be nice, but isn't necessary.

Are there any RFLKT users who have managed to get navigation working? Or is that strictly the domain of Garmin, etc.?

Joffey

Big Dosser
My Garmin 510 does all that you require!

RegG

Über Member
I'm looking at getting a Garmin and have been looking at the 520 bundle with HR, cadence and speed sensors. Am I right in thinking the speed sensor (attached to the hub) will provide more accurate data than using the Garmin without it and relying on GPS?

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
I'm looking at getting a Garmin and have been looking at the 520 bundle with HR, cadence and speed sensors. Am I right in thinking the speed sensor (attached to the hub) will provide more accurate data than using the Garmin without it and relying on GPS?
Don't know definitively. But how accurate do you need it to be? ;)

RegG

Über Member