Bike for a complete novice...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

amaquima

Regular
So, I can't ride a bike... At all... I think the last time I tried to learn was about 15 years ago!
But I'm determined to learn and one day maybe even use it to go to work... However, I have no idea what to buy... I went to Halford's yesterday and got told that I should look for a 16" frame, but I´ve been jumping from website to website and they all give me different answers... I'm 5'7", so maybe they are not that far off and I was planning to go for either a size 16" or 17".

These are the ones I´m considering...
Kingston Women's Dalston Hybrid Bike - Metallic Blue, 16-Inch
Ecosmo 26" New Ladies Beach Cruiser/Lowridger Bicycle
Elswick Women's Cantebury Comfort Bike
Elswick Women's Infinity Heritage Bike

Any advice would be hugely appreciated! I know I should probably be looking for a hybrid, but I have a crush with anything that looks girly and pretty... But I know that's not the way I should be approaching this...

sidevalve

Über Member
Nothing wrong with pretty BUT remember these points
1 - you will have to pedal it - keep it light - look for 10 kg some of the cheaper ones are nearly double this
2 - Halfords can be ok but sometimes their 'mechanics' can be iffy at best [depends on the store].
3 - if you haven't already check out Sheldon Browns website - there is just sooo much info there.
4 - if you like the 'ladies' frame fine [never mind the purists - it's your bike] but it will be heavier - don't be afraid to try a 'gents' frame
5 - go round lot's of bike stores and try the things out [it's part of the fun anyway]
6 - do not be blinded by the number of gears - it's the range that matters. I live up in county Durham and it is hilly and I have no problems with only a set of 16 - but I could manage with less [and no I am NOT super fit]