Complete overhaul or new bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi people. New person on here, I'm a beginner so please don't be too tenchical with me lol

I lost interest in biking a few years ago due to health problems (painful leg ulcers) and I'm just getting back into cycling now.

I have a WestCoast BSA bike. Old I know!!!

Before I gave up cycling, I added some v-brakes (shimano) on the bikes to replace the cantilevers because they were rubbish! I haven't ridden it since installing them so they are not bedded in!

The last time I cleaned it, the hub needed new bearings.

The gears need fixing as they won't change to first gear because the mech is too high. I think I messed them up because I took it apart to clean.

I think the teeth on the cassette and crankset need replacing.

I gave the bike a good wash on Saturday and noticed that there was a little rust? dried on the rear wheel from two of the nipples.

I'm wondering if I should give it a complete overhaul with new parts, or should I buy a new bike? I've been looking at Cyclocross and Road bikes.

Considering these two types of bikes, I have no idea which one would suit my needs. I would do a lot of road biking at home in Yorkshire, but if I take the bike to Scotland, then I would ride on bumpy roads. And tracks (with tarmac in both sides and grass in the middle).

I want to rider faster than I have been doing with this bike. I've ridden to work and it has taken me 1 hour to get there and 2 hours to get home (All hilly on the way home).

I need to get back into cycling again to get in shape and to lose a few stones, I'm only 11stone, but I used to be thin!!!

Thanks

P.S. Last photo showing track (Can get worse than this with patches of tarmac re-done in places). Yes it's an excellent view!

bikeside_zps38b19bb4.jpe [/img]

cassette_zps0154dd04.jpg

rearmech1_zpsbe4833a3.jpg

rearmech2_zps08e7a84c.jpg

vbrakes_zps099eef2c.jpe

6_zpsae1a3f69.jpg

ScotiaLass

Guru