Does fixing a puncture get easier?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Binka

Über Member
I've never had a puncture so today as the weather was rubbish I thought I'd have a go at changing an inner tube, which I've never done before.

It was awful. Took me ages to get the wheel off, got tyre off ok, took inner tube out (I'd deflated it), put it back in. Really struggled getting the tyre back on. Went to re inflate inner tube and couldn't.

Turns out I'd somehow managed to puncture the inner tube while taking it out/putting it back in.

So tyre off again. Replaced inner tube. Couldn't get tyre back on this time as my fingers were so painful. Had to get husband to do it.

No idea how I managed to puncture the inner tube. While thing took me 2.5 hours and I couldn't even manage it myself. I'm really worried now what I'll do if I get a puncture 20 miles from home and husband isn't with me.

Peteaud

Veteran
Practice at home.

It's much easier in the warm and dry and you will get used to doing it.

A cold wet day is never good anyway.

screenman

Legendary Member
Phone Barron Cycles and ask them if you can pay them for 30 minutes labour to show you how to do it. Failing that Youtube and practise.

I hope you know of Barrons, superb shop not far from Lincoln.

OP
OP
Binka

Binka

Über Member
I was doing it in the kitchen at home. I've watched YouTube videos to get an idea of what to do. Barrons might be a good idea, thanks.

ShipHill

Speaking as someone who has changed hundreds of tyres on cars, bikes and trucks in his life when I was a tyrefitter many years ago, it will get easier.

Always check thoroughly round the inside of the tyre for whatever caused the puncture.

Water is a great lubricant for getting the tyre on and off the wheel. Dry rubber on metal isn't that good a combination. A bit of water from a bottle, tap or even a puddle will help.