Does it sound/feel different to ride on a trainer for the first time?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Porknz

So I finally got the right tool to install the new cassette, and I got the bike hooked up to the trainer for the first time. Should it feel or sound any different than it does off the trainer? I just got the bike last spring, so I'm new to this. Never used a trainer before. I'm sure I can't quite explain it, but it kind of feels and sounds like it's shifting gears when it's just riding normal. That kind of transition sound/feel when you switch gears for a second. I don't see anything rubbing, and it doesn't sound like metal on metal. Any way for me to make sure I have the cassette installed correctly, spaced right, anything else? I don't want to ruin something on the bike because I installed it wrong. What else can I try to explain? Does this sound at all normal for a first time on a trainer? Maybe a trainer just feels/sounds a little different than riding out on the road? Maybe not having the sound and feel of the road makes a difference? Maybe being in my basement affects the sound? Thanks for any thoughts.

OP
OP
P

Porknz

I kind of feel like I can feel each of the teeth hitting the chain. Maybe it's just because I'm barefoot and trying it out?