Education Question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gb155

Fan Boy No More.
Morning all, trust me are well.

I need to get me a degree, now, being someone who is "un-educated" I am wondering what the options are, is there a way to do it "part time" so I could fit it in around work, sort of a night course, if you will ?

What sort of costs are involved ?

Thanks

Gaz

OP
OP
gb155

gb155

Fan Boy No More.
3 years isnt much in the scheme of things, it still puts me under 35

but £15k !!!!!

Ouch

Thanks for the info

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
Why do you need a degree? Have you looked at professional qualifications? They are often cheaper and better. I have a degree and two professional qualifications.

The degree was next to useless in helping me at work where as the professional qualifications have helped me get on.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Why do you need a degree? Have you looked at professional qualifications? They are often cheaper and better. I have a degree and two professional qualifications.

The degree was next to useless in helping me at work where as the professional qualifications have helped me get on.

I'd echo getting a professional qualification - far more use !

Yellow Fang

Legendary Member
The Open University might be one option - set up to deliver flexible distance learning programmes. The OU website is fairly comprehensive - sets out methods of study as well as the wide range of courses available. In essence you can follow the traditional method where you select a topic - for example Sociology - and then follow a prescribed pathway. Or you can build up modules until you've got the right number of credits and then claim a generic degree. Either way, I suspect it will take 3+ years.

It's not cheap - at the last count, I have a feeling that getting and honours degree will cost about £15,000. The OU sadly have been caught up in the fee hike caused by the Coalition.

Good luck