I want to start cycling to work but I put off by the busy road

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi.
As my cycling enthusiasm is growing day by day I'm now starting to think of commuting to work on my bike. Work is around 15 miles from home and feel I could comfortably to it, but it's the busy road that puts me off. Most of the ride to work and back ,will be on a busy fast A road which has long straight flat stretches. As a driver myself, I've seen some crazy motorists who have travelled along it over the years. I would be setting off from home at around 5.30 am and hopefully arrive around 6.30..
Would I be insane to even attempt it ,or is it more of a psychological concern..
I would really like to be able to commute into work though. It would save a few ££s on fuel and help me gain more fitness but its the dam busy road that's putting me off.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Maybe you would beat the crazies going in at that time, but would you hit heavy traffic coming back?

Are there no (sensible) alternatives to the A-road?

JhnBssll

Veteran
Give it a go and see ^_^ I avoid the direct A road route and commute down a fairly busy B road, 60 limit most of the way dropping to 30 through the villages. It was unnerving at first but I'm confident I've done as much as I can to be seen and quite quickly got used to the volume and speed of traffic.

Give yourself plenty of time to get changed on arrival :okay:

classic33

Leg End Member
Used to do the daily trip to Leeds via the A58. Found that the worst parts were the schools, the approach to Chain Bar and the last mile into Leeds. Did the outward trip at school run time.

Cycling along the same road before 6am, the road was quiet.

Give it a go and see how things actually feel.

OP
OP
johnnyb47

johnnyb47

Guru