Road Bike Fit Advice - Compromises?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sildus

Hello

I'm a newbie so hope that this advice is ok to ask for on here - apologies if not, will have a dig around elsewhere.

I ride to work and do a bit of long riding and touring in summer. I've been using a steel framed hybrid that weighs in at about 16kg (cost £99) so am ready for something a but lighter and quicker.

I'm in the process of buying a road bike and have tried a few and done a fair bit of research. The one I'm most keen on is the specialized allez sport.

My issue is that I don't have very standard proportions for a bloke. My legs are proportionally longer, and my reach is shorter.

I used the online bike fit calculator and the suggestions for top tube and seat tube for my size are quite extreme. I'm not just going on that though.

The 52cm seemed to be the most comfortable, although I did feel that I got a bit more power from the 54cm. The reach on the 54cm was too much though and I could feel it in my shoulders when riding on the hoods. Even on the 52, I think I would have been a good deal more comfortable with the 2cm shorter reach. I definitely wouldn't want a smaller frame than the 52cm however because I have to have the saddle quite high to get my leg position right - and have to pop off the saddle to get feet down when stopping (just). Obviously the more I have to do this, the bigger the drop to the bars and I don't want to have an unnecessarily aggressive riding position the whole time.