Safety warnings added to traffic lights

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

richmoko

I'm a second year engineering student. I cycle everywhere and have come across this problem all too often. Please take a moment to read this and give your opinion, I need to provide evidence that this is a real life problem for budding cyclist like us.
Local councils are always asking people to go green ‘CYCLE’ they say. Well I can honestly say from my own experience of cycling around my city on a daily basis, it can be a dangerous game of cat and mouse.
I must admit, I do not often wait around for traffic to flow, as this is one of the great advantages of cycle lane’s. Nor do I stop for unnecessary reason. The way I see it is. If a cyclist has to halt from a 13mph it takes quite a lot of effort and energy to reach that speed again.
My business proposal has come to light after all too frequent ‘near misses’ with vehicles jumping lights at junctions operating filter lights.
When a car jumps the filter light, they do not even look for a cyclist, often emerging from between stationary traffic setting off from a standstill. What often happens, is the driver jumping the light is thinking “the bus at the front will set off slowly”. Meanwhile from alongside the bus, the cyclist pops out and ‘hey presto’ the cyclist is forced to stop dead to avoid being struck.
The Basis of my proposition is to develop a system capable of warning drivers that a cyclist may emerge alongside the stationary traffic. Ideally attached to an existing traffic light cluster.
If you would like to send any of your opinions or suggestions please E-mail me at richmoko2000@yahoo.co.uk or post on this forum.
Thanks for your time guys and gals. :laugh:

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
Is this just a problem when drivers illegally jump lights? If so, it could be said that the answer is to stop drivers doing that.