SPD shoes for road cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

badgerjockey

Über Member
OK, hopefully won't rattle too many cages with this one so be gentle!

I am new to road cycling having been MTBing for years. Some friends got into road bikes in the last year or two and it began to tickle my fancy... I fell in love with a Genesis Equilibrium 20 and recently took the plunge...

I have the plan to work up to joining Audux rides in my local area (Bristol and Somerset) as there is some lovely looking riding territory down here. The bike came with the shimano A520 SPD single sided touring pedals with the support frame. I decided I might as well keep them rather than changing to Looks etc as I am only starting out. Plus, I still want to be able to walk around without teetering about or tapping everywhere, so I thought I would go for an MTB shoe as my first foray into clipless.

I know its a bit unconventional, but does anyone have any recommendations for MTB shoes which are up to the job of road cycling? I reckon in a day's ride I would spend 80-90 of the time on the bike, the rest will be at a pub or shop for a stop/rest etc. I suppose I am particularly worried about the possibility of hot foot but I have no idea if I am susceptible to that as yet.

I have thought about the Specialized tahoe or the Shimano m063 but not tried either and would prefer anyone's thoughts on the matter.

Cheers,

H

Tyke

I just started on SPD on my road bike about 650 miles ago with cheap Lidl shoes £15. I'm getting on a bit in age so don't go mad but I'm good for 30+ miles and some walking without any problems.

It's just a case of finding them in the shop when you need them but they keep coming up in my local shop not just on cycle weeks.

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
Welcome :thumbsup: