The Police wont police our 20mph zone - my letter of complaint

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi Sheree, thank you for your comprehensive response to my email and sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

The figures you provided are very interesting - The only conclusion that we can draw from them is that speeding, mobile phone use and other offences are endemic. The NYP obviously have an uphill struggle dealing with the sheer volume of offences. Particularly with your resources under the constant threat of where the cuts will fall next.

I was particularly struck by your response to the subject of York's 20mph zones. Frankly I'm shocked by your response. I'm no expert in these matters. I do try to follow the news and keep myself informed, but it came as a big surprise to me that the NYP can refuse to enforce the newly installed 20mph zones. The councillors which implemented these lower speed zones made it part of their manifesto. As part of the democratic process, they were voted in on the strength of the content in their manifesto, so it's logical to conclude that the people who voted them in did so because they desired safer streets. This is all self evident isn't it? Am I missing something?

So I really struggle with your statement, that: "Many of these 20mph limits were installed against the advice of NYP, as the areas did not reflect the new speed limit."
"The areas did not reflect the new speed limit?" What does this actually mean? I am to conclude that the NYP have a set of predetermined criterion by which they judge a road to be suitable for conversion to a 20mph? if this is the case it would seem to be at odds with - well - democracy. The population of York voted to increase the number of 20mph zones and the NYP refuse to recognise them.