Upgrading to proper Road Shoes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jezston

Über Member
Bit of an open question this!

I've been riding with crank bros pedals for a couple of years or so now since going clipless - for urban commuting they suit well as they offer the benefit of clipless but are dead easy to get in and out of.

Anyhoo, friends have been gradually trying to convince me to get proper road shoes for proper road riding, and that having mountain bike eggbeaters on my fancy alu/carbon Dolan is just not right.

But I have no idea where to begin. Lots of options, lots of prices.

Zakalwe

Speedplays are probably as close to your egg beaters as "proper" pedals will be. I wouldn't swap due to peer pressure alone however. Anyhoo, quite a few road shows have options for 2 and 3 hole cleats, so you can get a feel for the shoe itself with you existing pedals, then go on to different pedals if and when you decide to.

Save up and get some decent gear.

Personally I'd say Look Keo Carbons and S-Works Shoes - but that's £300 gone rather quickly.

Zakalwe

Might find the toeing in a bit of a faff at first with Look or SL style pedals. I like Look myself, got the cheapest SL pedals on the winter bike and they're no problem either. 30 quid I think they were.

Scilly Suffolk

Über Member
Speedplays are probably as close to your egg beaters as "proper" pedals will be...
Of all the different road systems, Speedplay must be the least appropriate "...for urban commuting...", not to mention the most expensive.

However, I do agree with you that there is no need to change for appearance's sake (see my comment above).

Zakalwe

Oh yeah? A double sided, high float, press down entry system is less appropriate than something like a Look Keo for commuting? I'd have to disagree in principle, though all the chuff that can get stuck in the cleat could be bothersome.

palinurus

Velo, boulot, dodo
Bit of an open question this!