Wanting a turbo trainer that I can use online apps like Zwift etc.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Peanut_77

Hi folks,
I'm a recreational cyclist and was wanting a turbo trainer that I can use with Zwift etc.

I've had a look at a load of trainers which range from £40 to £1000 I've done a little bit of research however I'm no expert, would it be cheaper to by a basic trainer and add a cadence & speed sensor and link up with Ant + or is it worth the money to buy one that has all that included.

I've had a look at the Tacx Vortex or Tacx Santori and you can get a decent second hand one for £100 or there abouts, this is the route I'm looking at at present however any advice or recommendations are welcome.

Cheers
Peanut

CXRAndy

Guru
Yes, adding Ant+ sensors to a cheap non 'power meter' trainer would work. However is you become more interested in indoor training, the experience is vastly enhanced with a 'smart power meter turbo'. Allowing automatic resistance adjustments for uphill and downhill. Plus you can then train to power and learn how to improve through training plans. Zwift has it all, workout plans, general riding, racing. If you got a friend who has a decent trainer and isn't using it currently, borrow it and experiment on Zwift for a week or two, Buy once if you can;)

bobinski

Legendary Member
Have a look at Gp Lama’s YouTube page for an excellent review of the vortex last week, and zwiftblog on a series of articles on how to set it up.

Tommy2

Über Member
If you're also planning to use/collect data whilst out on the road it would be better to use a dumb trainer indoors and then you'd be able to use the speed/cadence sensors in and out.

If you would need something to keep your interest whilst on the turbo then a smart trainer is probably the way to go.