Wiltshire to Santander spain.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

John Flower

Hello.

I have never toured before and have recently brought a road bike(focus variado 3.0). I have always wanted to cycle to spain and would like some advice from people who have down this sort of cycle before. I am looking to do it next july/august/september time depending on what time off I can take from work. I might do alone or maybe if anyone would like to join me? I would also like to do this for charity.

1, Do you think this bike is good enough to tour if i fit panniers etc.

2,Is it suitible to cycle by myself

3,I am relativley fit. what do you think is reasonable milage to do per day? maybe have rest days?

4, does anyone know of any routes to take? or could recommend what they would do for this cycle?

5. Do many tourers cycle with cleats or flat pedals?

At present I am not very prepare for this tour as I have never done this before and not sure on what questions to ask.

If anyone could help me that would be fantastic.

Thank you for your help

John

jakegil

Hi John

I do not claim to be an expert. I did some comedy touring with my Dad years and years ago but have recently been getting my bike and kit together for touring. I have done loads of research and have a good friend who I consider to be an expert.

So....

1. I would not consider touring on my road bike partly because I could not fit panniers or mud guards and I wouldn't be comfortable with the bike supporting that much weight. But that's not to say it's not possible if you pack light (very light). How much kit are you planning on taking? Also the gear ratios might be all wrong. I went out fully loaded at the weekend for the first time and had to use my middle ring and that's a 32 on a route that I wouldn't have to not loaded. Do you have a double or triple chainset?