Would you cold reset this frame?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
My daughter's bike is lovely but it's also old and, more importantly, French.

upload_2019-8-4_16-11-13.png

Long story short, I'm minded to widen the frame from its current 120mm to 130mm to accommodate modern wheels. There's a man with an incredibly annoying voice who shows you how to do it with a threaded rod and some nuts (oo er missus) on youtube -

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdibmxBuMy0

It all makes good sense, and I'm thinking of giving it a go, but a) I've never done it before, b) 10mm feels like a lot, and c) I'm not sure whether the age might have a bearing? (I don't know, but at a guess I'd say it might be '60s?)

Any words of wisdom/experience much appreciated

gbb

Legendary Member
Done it on a 531 Raleigh that had 27.1/4 wheels (so it had some age).
No real problems, I used a piece of wood through the triangle to gain leverage, you have to go a lot further than say 5mm because it springs back. Little pulls switching side to side to make sure it stays as even as possible.
Brake bridge...mine was tubular and brazed to the stays.. I got concerned about the stress it may put on those welds so I tightened a big jubilee clip round the bridge and stays to prevent it pulling them apart.
No problems though.

robgul

Legendary Member
No problem to cold-set steel frames - either the studding and nuts method in the film, or Sheldon Brown has a method using a piece of "lumber" - that's "wood" in English. Just go at it steadily with regular checks as you progress. As suggested to get the 5mm either side you probably need to wind the dropouts to about 140 or even more to allow for the spring-back.

I've probably re-szed 7 or 8 steel frames with no issues. NOTE: Under no circumstances try it with an aluminium frame.

Rob

OP
OP
swee'pea99

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Build some modern wheels on modern 120 mm cassette hubs?