Your tips and tricks

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

J4CKO

You know, for a relative newbie, I have made some discoveries over my six months but would love to get the benefit of your greater experience.

Mine,

My Mirror, Couldnt do without it.

Remember to unclip SPDs before the junction......

Keep decent pressure in your tyres

Get decent waterproofs

Take a toolkit and spare tubes

bit lame but I am still new to this.

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
If you change at work always keep a spare pair of under garments for the ocassions you forget to pack them :biggrin:

hackbike 6

A lot of the time I don't either im too knackered or am busy with other things or need to unwind.

Mean to check the tyres on my days off though for glass.#

All that gutter hugging is no good for the old tyres especially when the peeheads have been busy throwing bottles into the cycle lane on a Friday night.

goo_mason

Champion barbed-wire hurdler
Always check behind you when loosing off a snot rocket on a windy day.

Always check the wind direction when loosing off a snot rocket, as having it end up down your side / front isn't cool.

Amanda P

Legendary Member
When setting off on your bike after you've left it in a public place, briefly check the wheel quick releases (those on your brakes too if you have them). Passers- by sometimes fiddle with them.

hackbike 6

Good point Phil.

I work with responsible people (allegedly)

When I first started at Waterloo in 1989 I remember some comedian leaving my rear light on and covering it up so when I got to it that night the batteries were flat.

Within the last few years I have had people at work disconnect all the wires on my home made lighting system no doubt finding this "hilarious".
I did my nut over this but never did find the culprit and couldn't really complain otherwise I reckon all bikes would have been banned from where we park them as they are probably not supposed to be there.(H+S?)