Cheap commuter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

benj

Hi all,

I've been looking for a new bike recently, however I wondered if anyone could recommend me one as I'm no bike expert! My commute is 3 miles each way, all on flat road and sometimes down the canal path - so it'll need to be a hybrid bike.

I'm currently using a Raleigh Nitro bike that my Grandad gave me! A quick Google search says its from the early 90's - which explains why it's so difficult to ride, change gear etc.

My budget is ideally £200ish. Only due to the fact that my bike is left locked up at a train station all day and it's not unknown for the bikes to be stolen from there.

I did look at the Halfords Carrera modes - Parva and Subway. However I wasn't sure if the Subway warranted the extra £103 for the disc brakes and upgraded parts.

Any recommendations would be most welcome. Thanks!

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
The Subway is an awesome bike for the money. If you can stretch to the extra expense then I would say that would be a great purchase.

vickster

Legendary Member
I probably wouldn’t bother with the disc brakes given your spec especially if leaving in high risk location. Use the extra cash for a good solid D lock like the Abus Granit X

If you have a Cycle Republic closeby, get a testride of both

Alternatively look for something lightly used or used and well maintained

OP
OP
B

benj

The Subway is an awesome bike for the money. If you can stretch to the extra expense then I would say that would be a great purchase.

I have read good things about it. Typically it was £240 not long ago and I missed it - back to £300 now.

I can also get 10% Halfords discount through my work, so maybe I'll hold out for another offer.

Be good to see if anyone has any other recommendations though.

OP
OP
B

benj