Million dollar question, how to go faster?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Irishrich

Über Member
I know this is probably a question open to different opinions but that's a good thing as I want to hear from experienced cyclists, racers and joe bloggs. I am fairly new to cycling having bought my first road bike last summer, a Specialized Secteur 2013. I have fallen in love with the sport/hobby but am starting to feel that I'm not getting any quicker. That wouldn't be a problem if I was just out for a gentle cycle every weekend but I expected improvement from a non cycler to a regular cyclist who goes out 3 times a week and does around 25-30 miles each time. I'm quite fit and play a couple of other sports so my base fitness is already there but I can't seem to shave much time off my regular routes. Maybe I'm just so fast that my first rides are the same as my current ones but I know that isn't the case:laugh:. I've probably improved a bit but are there things I can do to go quicker, ie change parts on the bike, tyres, wheels, etc or will it just come with more experience? Is there a noticeable difference between a full carbon bike and an aluminium one? Thanks

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
How fast are you actually going?

If you are averaging (say) 15 mph for 30 miles then there is a lot of room for improvement. If you average 30 mph for 30 miles, then there isn't!

Improving your fitness will probably make a lot more difference than improving your bike!

OP
OP
Irishrich

Irishrich

Über Member