Too Simplistic?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Doc333

Knight Of The Realm & All Around Good Guy
I'm fairly new to cycling so please don't rip my head off when I ask ...... Why don't cyclists have solid rubber tyres? I have between 90 and 110 psi in my tyres and that makes them extremely hard to press in because they're almost solid. I've also had 3 punctures in the 6-months I've been cycling. I'm confident that a compound can be used that would give exactly the same performance, movement, stability etc that we get from an inflated tyre, so why do we use a more difficult method/system?

Anything to stop the hassle of swapping out clincher tubes.

Archeress

Veteran
There was a time in the late 80s when solid rubber tyres with a foam core came onto the market. My brother decided they were a good idea. But he didn't fit them. My father and I did, and they were a real pig to put on. Both of us fighting to hold the tyre on and get the next few mm on before repeating.

Hugs
Archeress x

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
There have been various attempts over the years to produce alternative tyres and to date none of them has yet been able to match the grip, performance, comfort or durability of a pneumatic tyre.

3 punctures in 6 months is unfortunate. What tyres are you running?

OP
OP
Doc333

Doc333

Knight Of The Realm & All Around Good Guy
"3 punctures in 6 months is unfortunate. What tyres are you running?"

Schwalbe Lugano Phil and as I'm a newbie I've had some great fun swapping out tubes as you can imagine.

You only need look at the F1 tyre technology to see how things have moved on. Grip won't be a problem with the correct compound, and also the density of the tyre can be made to reflect differing levels of psi equivalence. As for fitting I would imagine the wheels would need taking into a LCS where they can be machine fitted and tested, as it's not like you are ever going to want to change the tyre until its worn out?